Posted in Fantasy/Sci-Fi TV, Korean Dramas, Uncategorized

Goblin: the Lonely and Great God

Alright, so this drama was just as good as I was hoping it would be. I was really excited to see a modern fantasy show from Korea and this really set the record for one of the most fun and enjoyable. It was serious, but funny. It had strong story lines and in depth characters that all melded together really well. It’s always nice to see such a great drama that really makes me want more. The graphics were on-point and perfect. It also had one of my favorite male actors, Gong Yoo, as the lead (Coffee Prince); and, as always, his acting ability really is just awesome.

The drama is about Kim Shin, a Goblin, who must marry the Fated Goblin’s Bride to end his long life. When he meets Ji Eun Tak, it seems clear that she is indeed the destined one. The problem becomes apparent as the two grow closer and something blooms between them. Kim Shin is now pulled in that the very girl who could end his life could also mean so much more to him. Along for the ride is Ji Eun Tak’s boss, a fiery woman, who may hold a key to Gong Yoo’s past; and Gong Yoo’s roommate, a stoic grim reaper.

I really loved the dynamic of this show. It had a sort of playful tone to it and the flashbacks to Gong Yoo’s past when he was a mortal brought such a wonderful balance to the entire show. The characters were so real and they really played off of each really well. It was really a deep show about growth and forgiveness; about how much a person can really change and if a person can truly atone for past mistakes and sins. Just really fantastic.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

Leave a Reply

