Posted in Comedy Movies, French Movies, Romance Movies, Uncategorized

Blind Date

blinddate_slider

So, this movie was pretty fantastic. It was interesting, different and had a completely new tone; at least for me, maybe this is normal of French films. I didn’t realize when I chose it that it was French; that was just a nice surprise. The brief summary I read looked interesting, so I thought I would give it a try. It had scintillating characters that had such depth and range with a story that allowed them to intertwine in this fun plot. It was funny and creative; the actors were fantastic. I probably only had a couple parts that seemed a bit in the extreme, but besides that it was an enjoyable watch.
The movie is about a woman, a pianist, who has moved into an apartment to finally start spreading her wings as a performer. She discovers though that she’s not alone. A man who lives in the apartment next to her (a solitary creator of intricate puzzles) can hear everything she does and visa versa. The woman needs her music and he needs quiet. Can there possibly be a truce between two very different spectrums of artists?
I saw briefly that the movie was thought to be predictable, but I must disagree. There’s something to be said for a story that forms into a happy ending. Too many American movies go out of their way to create “shocking” twists and turns that in and of themselves end up annoyingly disjointed and, after seeing it a few times, predictable. It’s refreshing to see a movie that focuses more on the characters and less on the shock and awe factor.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

One thought on “Blind Date

Leave a Reply

