Posted in Comedy Movies, Fantasy Movies, Horror Movies, Korean Movies, Movies, Romance Movies, Uncategorized

Spellbound

 

What a WOW movie! This movie has some of my favorite qualities that I love in film: a realistic romance, on-point humor, a ridiculously handsome lead, good acting and a fantasy quality. It maybe had a couple awkward dialogue moments, but isn’t that how it is in life, sometimes? We say things that are off-point or completely inappropriate when we have a slip of the tongue. Honestly, this movie was really well done.

Spellbound is about Yeo Ri, a young woman, who has been living a solitary life away from everyone. One day she meets a young magician who hires her to help with a new act: one about ghosts. Unfortunately for Yeo Ri it’s no act. She is haunted by vengeful ghosts, one in particular, who refuses to let her have happiness. What is she to do then when her new boss starts pulling her back into the world of living, can she really risk being happy or will it spell the end to the relationship before it even begins?

I don’t know what it is about Korean paranormal stories that make me go running toward it instead of away. I’ve never been much for the whole ghost thing, but the way they are portrayed in movies like this and shows like Master’s Sun is just so intriguing. The characters in this are also really fun; they have such honest reactions to things. They just felt so genuine. The comedy is so great that I was just laughing uncontrollably. My face actually hurts. At the same time, I was always at the edge at my seat. The imagery of the movie was also beautiful; it’s pure art sometimes.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

Leave a Reply

