Posted in Fantasy Movies, Movies, Teen Movies

Alice: Through the Looking Glass

alicedisney0010

Alright, so this movie was highly anticipated for me. I loved the first Tim Burton film and I couldn’t wait to see the continuation. Despite the course reviews I had skimmed that claimed the movie was “without plot” and just a jumble of high-end graphics, I have to disagree thoroughly. The plot was clear and had a firm moral setting for life (just like the first) and the graphics were STUNNING. Mia Wasikowska does not disappoint as Alice and it is her beautiful and honest acting that takes the audience from one story to the next.

I don’t want to give too much away about the plot, but the story is based on the book, “Through the Looking Glass”. How much so and how much it differs, I don’t know; I haven’t gotten the opportunity to read the Alice books yet. In this story, Alice returns to Underland to save the Hatter. She must face off with Time, itself, and a familiar foe: the Red Queen. Can Alice stop Time or is it all inevitable?

Some of the best things about this movie is the stunning graphics and the return of my favorite characters. Perhaps the very direct moral point of the story can be somewhat cheesy to some, but I think it’s refreshing. Most of the directors today are so determined to be new and fresh that they go out of their way to be complicated with large interweaving stories and tons of characters with no clear purpose to the movie, except the large climax at the end. Through the Looking Glass is a fun, exciting tale about accepting and understanding Time as we get older.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

3 thoughts on “Alice: Through the Looking Glass

Leave a Reply

