Posted in Korean Dramas, Uncategorized

9 End 2 Outs

3

9 End, 2 Outs was a refreshing drama for me. It was about adults in their 30s who are saying goodbye to their 20s while facing forward for their next step in life. It was realistic with issues addressed spanning across the spectrum of adult life. It was also almost completely lacking in drama feeling. All of the characters were so fresh, the emotions so poignant that even in the hard times it didn’t feel amped up. It felt like how it would in real life, which may be a drawback for some, but I thought it really made the story in this case. The title is a baseball analogy if anyone didn’t know. It means the bottom of the ninth (usually the last) inning, with 2 outs. Which means the next move will determine if the team wins or loses. The show rests pretty heavily on baseball analogies that compare to life.

The story itself is about two childhood friends, Han Nee and Hyung Tae. They are both facing their 30s with resolutions of how they want to live the next ten years of their lives. When certain situations arise, Han Nee ends up living with Hyung Tae. Being best friends their entire lives they don’t think it’ll be a problem, but they soon discover there were many things they didn’t know about each other. As they both face problems with love and work they discover that the best things in their lives are each other, but they have to determine what that means and how it may change their relationship for better or worse.

This drama is really great for a lot of reasons. The no-drama thing was great which made everything a lot more light-hearted. There were also all the characters; when I think about it, it was quite a huge cast with such diverse story lines that interweaved on one another. It was done in a manner though that I really didn’t even notice. They did flashbacks at opportune times that allowed me to recall past situations and characters even though I may not have seen them for a while. As previously stated they also went over a lot of life issues: like if you date someone years younger, facing getting older, following your dream but being crushed by it, things like that.

I found this drama on Dramafever.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

Leave a Reply

