Posted in Fantasy/Sci-Fi TV, Uncategorized

Ash vs Evil Dead

ash-vs-evil-dead-key-art-700

Alright, so this Starz Original Series is based on the old cult classics of the Evil Dead and Army of Darkness. With it being a Starz series it has all the funding it needs for top notch CGI effects and complete freedom from censorship, so excessive gore and nudity are excessive. I’m pulled whether or not I can say I actually like the show or whether I’m watching it just become of loyalty to Bruce Campbell and Lucy Lawless; perhaps it’s a little of both.

The story is about Ash Williams; a stock worker who 30 years ago experienced an insane paranormal night of horror where he lost the love of his life and his hand. (I would watch Evil Dead 2 and Army of Darkness to catch up). Ash has done everything he can to avoid and forget everything that happened back then, but because of one night of stupidity the dark forces have come back to haunt him and destroy everything that touches him. With the help of his coworkers Pablo and Kelly, Ash reluctantly sets out to once and for all to destroy the darkness.

So, the acting and everything else is pretty good, but there’s just something about it that I just can’t place that bothers me and keeps me from liking it 100 percent. I’m not sure what it is, but all in all the show is alright. It is very gory and extremely violent but it’s done to the point that it’s not ‘realistic’ per se and it’s easier to look past the god awful things that are happening. It is one of those shows where anything can happen and I had to stop myself from caring about anyone, because just like Walking Dead, the show likes to push limits and it’s impossible to predict what’s going to happen next and to whom.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

Leave a Reply

