Posted in Comedy Movies, Cult Classic, Movies

Robin Hood: Men in Tights

RobinHoodMeninTights_Poster

This film is another satirical/spoof comedy by Mel Brooks with one of my favorite actors: Cary Elwes (Princess Bride, Liar Liar). I’m usually not big on just comedy movies, but with Mel Brooks’ films it’s different. For one, I grew up with them. They are like old friends. But also there is the fact that they are downright awesome. I’m left breathless with laughter even while I enjoy a story that still has a lot of heart.

Robin: Men in Tights is the same story that we all know. Robin is captured and put in prison during the crusades; when he escapes he returns home to discover things are much changed. Prince John has usurped the throne and has been unfairly taxing the citizens. With the help of his servant, Blinkin, Little John, Will Scarlett and Atchoo (the son of a fellow prisoner he met) Robin Hood starts a war with Prince John and the Sheriff of Rottingham.

One of my favorite parts of this is the song that’s sung by Robin’s merry men, “We’re men in tights”. The musical quality to this movie only adds to the smart humor that subtly and not so subtly mocks adventure and romance dramas. It’s hard to describe the cinematic genius of Brooks, but there is just something about his films that make him stand out against the rest. Whether it’s the fourth wall breaks, the spot-on humor, the spit-fire dialogue or the exemplary story line, Brooks has a style that withstands the test of time and I can’t help but to love every film I’ve seen.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

Leave a Reply

