Posted in Fantasy Movies, Hunger Games Saga, Teen Movies

The Hunger Games

Hunger Games

So, this film is one of my favorite fantasy films and I think most people would agree with me. Yes, it’s main stream, but at the same time the story is daring and harsh. I absolutely love Jennifer Lawrence in this and I think it was really well directed and produced. It’s also one of the few movies based on books that had the author so involved in the process which kept it true to the original story and feel.
The story is about Katniss Everdeen, a young woman, who lives in a future post-apocalyptic world where the bulk of the civilization is separated into ‘Districts’. The Capital of Panem regulates these Districts and keeps them in check by hosting a competition called the Hunger Games where two young adults (12 to 18 year olds) are chosen from each district to fight to the death. Katniss volunteers in place of her younger sister along with another young man, Peeta.
While this movie is awesome, I have even a greater respect for it after watching the behind the scenes. It was great to see how much the book meant to the director, producers, actors and others involved in the film, because they tried so hard to keep true to it. I personally think they did great on all accounts. The production team gave a great homage to the original, but also created their own cinematic masterpiece. Everything was thought through in amazing detail from the costume and set design, the stylistic use of the cameras and the balance of CGI, stuntmen and the actual realistic usage of the actors and the surroundings.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

Leave a Reply

