Posted in Fantasy Movies, Hunger Games Saga, Movies, Teen Movies, Uncategorized

Mockingjay Part One

maxresdefault

I already know that a lot of people did not like part one at all. It was too boring and too slow… so many things like that. I have to whole-heartedly disagree though. If you’re looking for a series that’s all about the action and main stream entertainment then you are looking at the wrong group of movies. From the very beginning Hunger Games has been about more than just action and a strong female lead. It has a very strong moral point to it; it’s about people and what they do to each other, how they are affected by war, and how people can change into either heroes or monsters.
Part One of Mockingjay finds Katniss in the mysterious District 13 where she finds the heart of the rebellion. Peeta, along with two other Victors, have been taken by the Capital. Katniss decides to be become the face of the Rebellion after finding out her home has been destroyed with only one main demand: the Rebellion must make an attempt to rescue Peeta and the other victors.
I know that this movie moves very slowly, but I think it was necessary. If the two film had been put together a lot of the little nuances would have been lost and it would have become way too convoluted. I think it was important that this film addressed the changing world and the part that Katniss was going to have to play in this war. Without the subtleties of motion and pacing that they used in this film I think the emotional and moral point of the story would have been lost in a whirlwind of activity. And I know I’ve said this a lot, but it’s the emotional turbulence through the eyes of Katniss that readers loved; it was through her eyes that they got to see the Capital and their atrocities. Also this film really needed to address the different facets of the building war so that people could understand everything that was going on. One film wouldn’t have been able to do all that.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

Leave a Reply

