Posted in Korean Dramas

Oh My Venus

4766_OhMyVenus_Nowplay_Small

So I know it seems like I’ve watched a ton of Korean dramas lately, but I just kind of go through phases of what I’m in the mood for. This drama was great for a lot of reasons, not only was it a great Korean show, but it was also about becoming healthy, losing weight and having hope overcoming some of the most difficult problems such as disease, obesity and injuries.

Kang Joo-Eun, once Daugu’s Venus (meaning she was the High School beauty), has devoted her life to becoming a great lawyer, but she ends up giving up a lot in the meantime, including keeping her weight down. Obese and insecure she goes from one diet to the next with no luck. Kim Young-Ho is a personal trainer with a hard past of childhood illness who has come to Korea to escape from a scandal in the states. Destiny, or what you will, brings the two lost individuals together in a miraculous way.

This show was different for a lot of reasons. Kang Joo-Eun obviously wasn’t the normal female protagonist, being overweight. For this reason, the viewer really gets to see the insecurities and problems that come with obesity, but also gets to experience the benefits when you lose it. Besides this the show has really great characters and some of the scenes are just so fun that I couldn’t help but to smile like an idiot at the screen.

Oh My Venus is so fun, but it is also serious. I think more than anything this show examines the ups and downs in life and how quickly things can change. I’d really suggest this show; it is just such a great watch.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

Leave a Reply

