Posted in Anime

Nana (Anime)

2326

So, in turn of watching the live-action of this I watched the anime which I hadn’t seen in years. It was sort of like welcoming an old friend. This anime, unlike many others, is definitely for adults as it deals with life and romance issues that wouldn’t be appropriate for kids and some teens. With that being said this anime is really great and really stands out.

The show is about two young women who meet on a train to Tokyo only to find out they share the same name and age, but not much else. Nana O. is a vocalist for a punk rock band hoping to make her big break in the city, although she plays it very cool with her bondage-style fashion sense and steely stare.  Nana K. is a cheerful, posh lady on her way to Tokyo to follow her boyfriend who lives there. The two find themselves drawn to one another and soon a strong friendship forms. Although as time goes on they find themselves drawn together and pulled apart because of romance and life, but yet they both always remain in each other’s hearts.

This anime is by far one of the most serious shows I’ve seen (animated or not) as it really shows the stark pain that comes when life gets hard, but somehow that annoying drama-like feeling is absent. Probably what I like most about Nana is that it correctly shows how even as life seems to be coming to a precipice life goes on and continues. In so many drama shows when bad things happen I always end up feeling stressed out because it’s so end-of-the-world, can’t-live-without, but not with Nana. No matter what happens there’s a light at the end of the tunnel and life always moves forward.

Probably my only issue was the ending felt bitter sweet. But from my research no matter what it would’ve ended on an odd note since the original author (from the manga) was never able to finish her work as she got sick. It happens, though. The same thing happened with “It started with a Kiss”.

I’d highly suggest Nana to anyone who enjoys punk rock music and awesome, fun characters.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

Leave a Reply

