Posted in Fantasy Movies, Movies, Teen Movies

The Secret of Moonacre

Secret of Moonacre

So, I just finished watching this marvelous movie. When I saw the cover I thought it must be some sort of wannabe Narnia movie, you know, with the big lion and all that; but I was pleasantly surprised. Although this movie might be deemed more for teens, I didn’t have a problem at all with it. The movie is actually pretty dark and the cast is exemplary. It was a simple fantasy story of magic and belonging.

The plot is about Maria, a young Lady whose father had been murdered and who had gambled away the poor girl’s inheritance and home. The only thing she is left from him is a mysterious book about the history of place called Moonacre, her father’s childhood home. Maria gets sent to her estranged Uncle, a rude stand-offish man, whose home has more places that are restricted than allowed. Maria soon starts realizing that Moonacre holds a dark secret and soon she’s pulled into the strange war that has been raging for hundreds of years.

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I felt sometimes that it seemed to jump from one thing to the other too quickly and without a complete explanation of events that were occurring like scenes were cut out. I looked on the internet and tried to see if there was an extended version, but with no luck. Other than that I thought the film was great. I’d suggest this movie to anyone who likes fantasy. The imagery, graphics and feel of the movie are all top notch level.

 

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

Leave a Reply

