Posted in Movies

The Mummy

the mummy

Alright, so this was one of my favorite movies to watch with my family when I was a girl and I’m happy to say I still think it’s awesome! This movie has just about everything that one could hope for in a movie: action, mystery, thrill, romance and a great enemy.

I think my favorite part about this movie is the fact that instead of having some mindless creature, the mummy actually has a back story that is expressed quite wonderfully. The characters are classically distinctive: the American soldier-for-hire, the adventurous librarian, the lazy money-obsessed brother, etc.

The story itself is about Evelyn, a librarian in an Egyptian museum, who discovers a mysterious map to leads to Hamunaptra, the City of the Dead, where she hopes to find the Book of Life. Along with her brother, they enlist the help of O’Connell who says he has been there before. But they all soon realize that the city has more than just ancient artifacts and sand. Something sinister lives there as well. Da-Da-Da-Dum.

This movie may not have the top notch graphics that the last few years have given us, but they aren’t anything to scoff at either. The acting is great and original with classic lines that I still haven’t forgotten as I’ve gotten older: “No harm ever came from opening a book”. The fight scenes in this are pretty bad-ass too.

Definitely a movie I would recommend to anyone: young, old, man or woman.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

2 thoughts on “The Mummy

Leave a Reply

