Posted in Movies

The Mummy Returns

the-mummy-returns-5247691681862

So, now we have the second installment of the Mummy. I like the second one a lot, perhaps not as much as the first, but they’re really about equal in my book. Not many movies have successful sequels, but I think, at least in the case of Mummy Returns, they did a smash-up job. The animation could have been better in some parts, but all-in-all pretty darn good.

This sequel is set 9 years after the first movie. Evy has been having strange dreams that lead her to an exhibition where she discovers the Scorpion King’s Bracelet. Mayhem ensues as a mysterious group comes after them. It’s no secret, just from looking at the cover, that the Mummy, Imhotep, returns in this sequel.

As well as the return of old favorite characters, we also have Rick and Evy’s son. It’s hard to find kids who can seriously act and except for a few moments, I think the kid in this did very well. He had an appropriate amount of spunk and personality, so I think it was a win.

The only part that I didn’t like was the very end with the Scorpion King. Unfortunately, the graphics for the big baddie left the end feeling a little lacking.

Besides that the movie had the same feel as the first with similar lines that will stand the test of time:

Ardeth Bay: [to Alex] By putting this on, you have started a chain reaction that could bring about the next apocalypse.

[Alex gasps]

Rick: [to Ardeth] You, lighten up.

[to Alex]

Rick: You, big trouble.

[to Jonathan]

Rick: You, get in the car.”

Taken from Imdb.com

I’m afraid by no means will I watch the third movie. I just can’t get through it.

 

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

Leave a Reply

