Posted in Movies

Jane Eyre (2011)

Jane_Eyre-434903215-large

This movie is startlingly beautiful. I’ve seen many films based on classic books, but many fall short to translate the words and emotions into film. This movie isn’t one of them. Based on Charlotte Bronte’s work of the same title this movie is captivating.

For those who haven’t read the book, it’s based on a young governess, Jane Eyre, who has spent the better part of her life being horribly used, put down, and downright abused by the people around her. When she becomes governess for Lord Rochester she is thoroughly closed off to the world, but soon finds herself drawn to the brooding Lord. Filled with mystery, intrigue, darkness the story is something all its own; and is definitely not your usual romantic tale.

The movie captures the book so completely. The soundtrack alone is so in tune to the tone of the story. From there you have the visuals which mimic so completely how I imagined the world being when I read the book. The actors are great. Mia Wasikowska is a great actress and beautiful, but I thoroughly respect the fact that they made her look so plain; she really became Jane Eyre.

Most remakes of books usually keep strictly to the story line, but I really like that they rearranged parts of it to make it into an even better theatrical journey. It really made the story so much better.

Really, though, this is an amazing movie. Truly.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

Leave a Reply

