Posted in Movies

Star Wars Episode 1, Phantom Menace

Episode_1

Alright so I don’t think anyone would disagree with me that this is the worst of the Star Wars films, but as I am not one to unfairly degrade a movie I’m going to go over the pros and cons of it.

Episode One is a somewhat interesting story line as most of the story is a build-up and explanation of what was to come in later films. It almost felt more like an overly long prologue, rather than an exciting Star Wars film. Perhaps, it was because of the obtuse characters of the Gungans, especially Jar Jar Binks, who constantly downplayed events by their Loony Toon behavior.

Even saying that, the dialogue in the film was… a little boring and sometimes a bit forced. The graphics, as well, left a lot to be desired, but I may be spoiled now with all these high-tech blu-ray superhero films. Then we have the super awkward relationship between Padme and Anakin (Spoilers to some, but most of you will understand what I’m talking about).

All of that being said, it was an alright film. Most of the characters were pretty interesting: Qui Gon Jinn, Obi-won, Queen Amidala, Darth Maul and R2D2. And once you get past Jar Jar Binks and the uneven pacing of the film it’s a fairly decent film. Just not quite up to par with the rest of the Star Wars films (Episode 2’s awkward romance scene withstanding).

 

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

Leave a Reply

