Posted in Korean Dramas

Secret Garden

Picture1

Alright, so I’ve probably watched one too many things lately, but I loved this drama. I was absolutely addicted to it and watched it within record time.
The story was just so different. Gil Ra Im is a female stunt devil who crosses paths with the CEO of a popular mall, Kim Joo-won. Their story is mainly normal until they find this restaurant in the middle of a forest and after drinking some apparent ‘home-made alcohol’ they switch bodies! It was a total shock considering it was several episodes in. The whole thing was just entrancing and I loved the end of it. I’ve seen a couple shows where the ending was kind of “eh”, but I was left feeling fully satisfied.
Gil Ra Im was also just such an amazing character. I mean, besides being damn sexy, she was so strong! Putting aside how rare it is for a Korean drama to have such a strong-willed, athletic, fighting woman, even as an American it is rare to see a character like her. Most shows, even in the states, if they have a woman who can fight and such is usually seen as unfeminine, butch and unattractive. Gil Ra Im is NOT any of those things: she’s feminine, graceful and well-adjusted (as in she’s comfortable being a stunt-woman).

Joon-Won, as well, was such an eccentric character. Honestly, the amount of depth the creators put into this show and the characters is so wonderful. More often then not after watching a certain amount of shows from the same genre I start seeing the same character templates with similar story lines, but this show felt truly fresh.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer who has devoted the better part of my life to English. I decided to write reviews because every time I read a book (which is far less then it should be) or a good show (which is way more) I am just bursting with information that I want to relay to someone, anyone, because what I just saw or read was just so awesome. Please, enjoy! Disclaimer: I do not own nor am I associated with the related books, shows or movies or their consequent companies. This blog is for fun and information.

Leave a Reply

